

Rules and Honors Committee Report

February 2023

Chair: Dr David Drew Members: Dr. Nicholas Cole, Dr. Albert Tan & Dr Chris Waalkens

The ANZAP Rules committee was originally established about five years ago to oversee updating of the ANZAP Rules (Constitution). This work was completed last year with the acceptance of the updated Rules at the 2022 AGM.

As a result of careful inspection of the Rules we noticed that there was no way to honor ANZAP members who make a significant contribution to research, teaching, and community service. The committee considered making provision for this in the Rules but after discussion decided to create a separate award for this purpose.

The Committee therefore created a new award for outstanding services in the categories of academic and clinical excellence, teaching, research, national and international organizational service and public service. The official award will be the 'ANZAP Order of Merit', but it will be known as 'The Don Haig Award' in honor of Dr Don Haig, a founding father and long serving servant of the Academy. Further details of the award and the inaugural recipient will be revealed at the Gala Dinner during the three-day meeting in Melbourne (Friday, March 24, 2023).

Another task on the committee agenda is the creation of honor boards for the website as a permanent record of award recipients and historical presiding office holders of the Academy. Work on this project will commence during 2023.

Given the ongoing functions of the committee, the name of the committee has been changed from 'Rules Committee' to 'Rules and Honors Committee'.

The committee has met several times using Zoom over the past twelve months and will continue further meetings during 2023.

David Drew Chairman ANZAP Rules Committee